Registration now open at cclccc.org

Wednesday, Nov 19 (SOUTH)
Ontario Doubletree Hotel
222 N Vineyard Ave.
Ontario, CA 91764

Thursday, Nov 20 (NORTH)
Embassy Suites in Walnut Creek
1345 Treat Blvd.
Walnut Creek, CA 94597

Your Comments Matter; 3rd Draft of Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education Forthcoming by mid-November

ACRL Insider:  Posted: 23 Oct 2014 09:03 AM PDT

Over the past few months, the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Information Literacy Standards Task Force has continued its work revising the proposed Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and expects to release the third draft by mid-November, with comments due by mid-December. As the higher education association for librarians, ACRL is committed to developing and maintaining forward thinking standards and guidelines that impact student learning across the campus community. The seminal Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education, first adopted in 2000 by ACRL, have defined information literacy for librarians, educators, and assessment agencies. A task force charged by the ACRL Board has been working on the new Framework since March 2013. In recent months, they have been carefully reviewing the many good ideas and suggestions from the library community, and others, through both formal and informal channels since the release of the first draft of the Framework in February 2014.

In response to the rich feedback, the task force has updated its Frequently Asked Questions page to include a detailed FAQ explaining the methods used to analyze the extensive comments and the process used to make changes in the forthcoming third draft Framework.  By mid-November, along with an updated version of the Framework itself, an expanded set of FAQs will also be posted that address specific issue raised in the library community about the Framework during the past year.  These new FAQs will respond to a range of topics, including assessment, the role of knowledge practices and dispositions, and the research behind threshold concepts as a foundation for the Framework.

Academic Senate for California Community Colleges (ASCCC) — Dan Crump

Online Education Initiative (OEI) www.ccconlineed.org

Report by Dan Crump, American River College, OEI Steering Committee

Thanks to Morgan Brynnan and Glorian Sipman for providing information about online librarian reference services (possible suggestions included OCLC Questionpoint and Libraryh3lp) to be considered for inclusion in the OEI system.  As Morgan noted in her email to me, “Reference librarian and library services are essential for student success, and many studies show a direct correlation between the two: Library Use, Information Literacy and Student Success Research Review: http://wikis.ala.org/acrl/index.php/CCSSE_Information_Literacy_Items.”

I will bring this forward to both the Basic Skills and the Academic Affairs workgroups of the OEI for discussion.  They have been looking at online tutorial services, but maybe we can also look at online reference services.   We are one step ahead of some many other groups in that we do offer a range of online database sources (including Academic Search Premier, Business Source, Health Source, MasterFile, and Newspaper Source) available to all CCC libraries through the Community College Library Consortium.

In addition, I am on the Basic Skills workgroup with the charge to “identify and address the needs of Basic Skills students, faculty, Chancellor’s Office and instructional support staff by developing effective strategies in this area.”  One of our initial assignments is to identify online resources that would be appropriate and we are gathering examples (with URLs) of resources that provide free and/or low cost mathematics, English reading/writing, ESL and library research modules, tutorials, and/or support.  Thanks to all the librarians who responded to my email request for examples.

vis-à-vis serving on Accreditation Teams, there is an article in the ASCCC Senate Rostrum for October.  On pages 8-10 you will find “There and Back Again: Serving on an ACCJC Accreditation Evaluation Team” by Kale Braden, North Representative.

http://www.asccc.org/sites/default/files/rostrum-october_2014.pdf

Monique Delatte Starkey, Fullerton College, blogged about her experiences at ALS Las Vegas 2014. http://moniquedelattestarkey.blogspot.com/2014/09/american-library-association-2014.html

ELECTRONIC ACCESS TO RESOURCES (CCL-EAR) COMMITTEE
Darryl Swarm (Feather River College): Committee Chair

The CCL-EAR Committee gathered for their Fall 2014 in-person meeting in Ontario, California. Eleven individuals are working hard on the ambitious shared e-book deselection project. They are following a coding scheme for deselection and have divided up the work to review approximately 2,500 titles each. One member found that, from the 2,500 she was reviewing, approximately 200 titles required closer examination and only 40 of those would likely meet the criteria of being potentially harmful to keep in the collection. The group hopes to have a refined list by December. Another group is working on the Science Databases Review (Access Science, Today’s Science, and Science in Context). A draft is expected sometime in November.  Other products in the review process include the Grove Dictionary of Art, Grove Dictionary of Music and Salem. A review of Lexis Nexis Academic is also at the beginning stages. The next meeting for the group will be a virtual teleconference meeting on November 14, 2014.

Please send suggestions for any electronic databases you would like the CCL-EAR Committee to consider to Darryl Swarm (dswarm@frc.edu) or to your regional representative (CCL-EAR Committee Roster) https://cclibrarians.org/committees/electronic-access-and-resources-committee#members. Reviews by the committee are available at https://cclibrarians.org/consortium/reviews.  

California Conference on Library Instruction - Call for Proposals

Teaching and Reaching Your Students in Environments of Rapid Change

PROPOSAL DEADLINE: Wednesday, November 26, 2014

CONFERENCE DATE: Friday, April 17, 2015

Interested in presenting? Use our submission form at http://bit.ly/presentCCLI California Conference on Library Instruction is a one-day conference held in lovely Northern California. This year’s annual program, co-sponsored by the Sonoma State University Library, will be held on campus in the Cooperage on Friday, April  17, 2015, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. This year’s CCLI program, “Teaching and Reaching Your Students in Environments of Rapid Change,” will explore new and practical ways to craft innovative experiences for learners. Think about the buzz words of today: maker, hack, design, engage, community, framework, scalable, ethical, sustainable, etc. These are some of the ways librarians are working with library instruction.

What ways are you are approaching instruction in environments of rapid change? We’re looking for your best instruction plans, how you're adapting to new modes of learning, creative ways you're reorganizing and assessing your work, your unconventional curriculum, your quirky exercises, your strategic advocacy tactics (for these programs on your campus), what you have learned from your failures, etc!

The 16th edition of the Library Newsletter is now available.

This edition highlights research guides related to the campus integrative theme of food, books in our children’s collection, some Library Club activities, and our expanded reserve collection.

We truly hope you enjoy it as we strive to offer the very best services and resources to our community.

http://cert.ent.sirsi.net/custom/web/content/LibraryNewsletterFA14rv.pdf

Pearl Ly earned a Doctorate in Educational Leadership in a joint program between University of California, San Diego and California State University San Marcos. Her dissertation is titled Chief Librarians: The Leadership and Administration of Community College Libraries. An abstract is available at: http://csusm-dspace.calstate.edu/handle/10211.3/121333

LRC Director MaryGrace McGovern was laid off, effective June 30, 2014. Librarian Ruth Moon is serving as half time Library Director for the fiscal year 2014-15. Four associate faculty librarians have been hired: Sarah Haman, Terri Bonow, Chris Cooper, and Faith Mason to provide reference services and library instruction. One full time Library Tecnician, Greg Toleno, was re-hired from the 36-month layoff list, and another full time Library Technician vacancy was filled with a new hire, Joshua Harkins, when the incumbent in the position, Tim Miller, resigned for a full time temporary librarian position at Humboldt State University.

The HVAC system in the Learning Resource Center building is being upgraded, to include air conditioning as well as an improved heating system. Solar and heat reduction films have been applied to all the west and south facing window walls. This should make the building more comfortable during our "hot" days- when it gets up to 78 degrees! Redwoods CCD library received a large donation of almost a thousand academic books, from the estate of a Humboldt State University Emeritus Professor in Philosophy, Clarence Smith Howe. Librarian Ruth Moon applied for and received and internal grant award of just over $27,000 to purchase books in Political Science, History, and Social Sciences.

The  library has recently hired Jude Baldwin as our full-time Librarian.  Jude worked as a part-time librarian at COS for the last two years and we are very pleased to have her here in a full-time faculty role.  Jude has already been hard at work re-instituting Interlibrary Loan service, writing support material for users of online materials, and offering trainings for our Student Success Seminar series and individual classroom sessions.

Jude has more than seventeen years of library experience, fourteen of those in library systems in Alaska. She also worked from 2011-2014 as a part-time librarian at Shasta College in Redding, CA. She holds a Master’s Degree in Library and Information Science from the University of Rhode Island, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Theatre Arts from Cornell University. Jude also works as a book reviewer for Library Journal where she writes reviews of specialty cookbooks.

The deadline for placing fall consortium orders is November 7^th. Please fax your renewal or new order forms to the League office by this deadline.  When we place the fall orders with the vendors we will provide them with IP addresses. Please check your IP addresses in the consortium procurement system to verify we have the correct IP’s on file. To do so, login to your procurement account. Click on Settings and you will see a section called My College IP addresses. This is where new IP’s would be added.

CountryWatch

Students and faculty in all of the California community colleges will continue to have free access to one of the premier online information databases covering countries of the world, CountryWatch Premium.  The database, which is a major resource tool for businesses, consultants and researchers, contains up-to-date economic, political, and social data about every country on the globe.

The Council of Chief Librarians and the Community College League are continuing their joint commitment to full coverage of the cost.  This is the thirteenth year that the resource has been provided to the colleges at no cost.  Both organizations – partners in the cooperative purchasing program for online resources for CCC libraries – use a portion of the fees generated by the program to provide the database to every college regardless of the level of participation in the purchasing program.  CCL and the League see this as an opportunity to use the program to benefit the colleges over and above the main focus of the purchasing program.

Save the Date: April 9-10, 2015 in Sacramento

Discovery Day Camp on December 5, 2014 at Santa Rosa Junior College

Interested in fine tuning your EBSCO Discovery Service? Curious to see how other libraries are integrating discovery into instruction? A North Bay Discovery Day Camp sponsored by EBSCO Information Services and hosted at Santa Rosa Junior College is for you.

This event is an opportunity to learn more about best practices for configuring the EBSCO Discovery Service for search and instruction. Learn about customization options, new features, and ways to maximize the discovery experience. This event is intended for current EBSCO Discovery Service users who wish to fine tune the configuration of their discovery platforms and become more confident in EDS management. It is also a great way for libraries considering a next-generation discovery search a chance to see EBSCO Discovery firsthand and learn how librarians are using it in research and instruction. A special session will be devoted to innovative ways discovery is being used in classroom and information literacy instruction at Santa Rosa Junior College. Bring your instruction success stories to share!

For more information, and to register for this event, please see:

http://www.santarosa.edu/library/discovery/

Questions?

SRJC Contact: 
Alicia Virtue, avirtue@santarosa.edu
Electronic Services Librarian
707.527.4773

EBSCO Contact: 
Sam Williams, swilliams@ebscohost.com
Regional Sales Manager
800.653.2726 x2004

Gartner defines a strategic technology trend as one with the potential for significant impact on the organization in the next three years. Factors that denote significant impact include a high potential for disruption to the business, end users or IT, the need for a major investment, or the risk of being late to adopt. These technologies impact the organization's long-term plans, programs and initiatives.

"We have identified the top 10 technology trends that organizations cannot afford to ignore in their strategic planning processes," said David Cearley, vice president & Gartner Fellow. "This does not necessarily mean adoption and investment in all of the trends at the same rate, but companies should look to make deliberate decisions about them during the next two years."

http://www.gartner.com/newsroom/id/2867917

Golden West College Library’s new Library Chair is Julie Davis.

The World Wide Web is getting an upgrade which will greatly expand the capacity of a simple browser.  On October 27the The W3C approved HTML 5, a new version of the primary language use to encode Web pages and documents.  There will be new tools available which will enable the creation of and access to much more direct and dynamic Web pages without the addition of an endless array of apps and plugin programs.

Articles about the standard noted that it is 1,300 pages long, but oddly enough, it will probably never be “printed”.

Most re-tweeted quote

“love to see a library that weeds their websites like they do their books. Least visited pages get weeded. Anyone do it?” #internetlibrarian

Many, but not all, presentation pdf's and PPTs  are available at:

http://internet-librarian.infotoday.com/2014/Presentations.aspx

CCL President, Tim Karas

Hello, we have made it to mid-terms. I am sure your libraries are abuzz with activity. This is the fuel that propels us forward.

At the October CCL Executive Board Meeting Evelyn Lord, Head Librarian, at Laney College was elected to the CCL Board. She will be representing the San Francisco/East Bay Region. Please join me in congratulating Evelyn.

Many Colleges are finalizing resource allocations for the academic year. There have been questions about Instructional Equipment and Library Materials (IELM) funding. Once again, the State budget included funding to support Colleges to purchase instructional equipment and library materials. We should be proud of this achievement, because several versions of the proposed budget did not include support for instructional equipment and library materials. However, there is an important distinction from previous years. There is a single allocation for physical plant (deferred maintenance) and IELM with local flexibility on splitting the funding. Within IELM library materials are not allocated a specific percentage; but are identified as on of the major categories that can be supported by these funds. As traditional, it is a local decision on the specific distribution of funds. This is an important source of funding for libraries as many depended on this funding to underwrite a majorly of their collection budgets.

In a further development College’s are being asked to submit five-year projections for instructional equipment and library materials. This report is due to the Chancellor’s Office in December 2014. The purpose of this document is to demonstrate the large unmet funding needs of the system. This type of document can be used with the Department of Finance to justify funding requests. It is similar to a process used by facilities to demonstrate resource needs.

Below are links from the Chancellor’s Office website listing the FY14/15 allocations, revised guidelines, and the 5 year instructional support plan.

• FP 14-15: 2014-15 Physical Plant and Instruction Equipment Certification and Allocations (pdf)

• FP 14-20: FY 2015-16 Instructional Support 5-Year Plan (released 9-22-14)
• Attachments:Physical Plant and Instructional Support Guidelines (pdf)Instructional Equipment Workbook (excel)

Later this Fall you should receive information regarding the Annual Data Survey. This is a critical survey, which informs the Chancellor’s Office and the public on the use of our facilities, collections, and programs. CCL is working with the Chancellor’s Office to have college data from previous Annual Data Surveys aggregated and made available for examination and download.

Finally, please mark your calendars for the annual Deans, Directors and Department Chairs meeting in Sacramento on April 9-10, 2015. We are planning this free 2-day session to provide an exciting, valuable, and interesting program. We are here for you and want to support our collection of libraries in the best manner possible.

Please don't hesitate to contact me or one of the executive board members if you have ideas, questions, or solutions for the needs of community college libraries.

I recognize that our system is filled with passionate and caring professionals who want to continue making a difference for our students. I look forward to working together to make that difference. Thank you.

All the best,

Tim, CCL President

The SJSU School Of Information  Library 2.0 virtual conference series connects thousands of information professionals worldwide with a focus on the future of libraries in the 21^st century. The free conferences are a great opportunity for information professionals to collaborate with a global audience, exchanging research and knowledge on issues trending in the field of library and information science. Co-founded by the School of Information at San Jose State University (SJSU), the conferences are part of the school’s commitment to providing professional development and lifelong learning experiences. Dr. Sandra Hirsh, director of the SJSU School of Information, and Steve Hargadon, director of Web 2.0 Labs, co-chair the conferences. The Library 2.014 Worldwide Virtual Conference is the fourth annual event.

Here’s the link to the web page where the recordings can be accessed: http://www.library20.com/page/2014-recordings

Library Journal launched a “Rollout” series of articles on webscale discovery solution implementations with a look at: “Michigan State Launches SearchPlus for Ease of Use, Interdisciplinary Research” by Matt Enis

Steven Deineh, Instruction Librarian, has been appointed to a two-year term as Director of the North County Higher Education Alliance (NCHEA). The Alliance, a committee comprised of 20 faculty and administrators from MiraCosta College, Palomar College, and California State University San Marcos, is charged with increasing the rates of student persistence and transfer as well as promoting collaboration among the institutions of higher education in North San Diego County.

Between January 2010 and July 2012, the LRC/Library building went through a comprehensive renovation. Before moving to temporary a temporary facility, the librarians weeded the print collections and discarded over 50,000 items. And while the library was in portable buildings, we integrated most of the reference and audiovisual materials into the circulating collection. We also upgraded the security system with RFID technology. The Library occupies only the third floor of the renovated building and the smaller collection has plenty of shelf space to grow. We have more group study rooms (students can write on the walls!), a dedicated open-access computer lab, and more study space than in the past. Students love the “new” building. 

The Library’s virtual space was also “renovated.” In June 2014, we went live with OCLC’s cloud-based ILS and discovery tool, WorldShare Management Services (WMS).

This August, Carolyn Seaman became the new Instruction Librarian. She comes to Saddleback from UC Irvine Libraries where she worked in Reference and Education & Outreach. Carolyn brings her experience of teaching and instructional design to the Library. She will be supporting and developing the library’s non-credit and credit instruction program with a focus on expanding online workshops.

The Santa Rosa Junior College libraries were featured in the Santa Rosa Press Democrat for work developing an innovative e-learning tool called Art Talk that encourages student exploration of the library building, artwork, print and e-collections.  Art Talk captures artist explanations of their artwork on videos that students can watch on their smartphones while standing in front of the art. The students may also view library resources about the art, drawn from the SRJC collection. The article is here:  http://www.pressdemocrat.com/lifestyle/2919598-181/learning-about-art-via-smartphone

by Lena Pham, Library Programs Consultant, California State Library [originally published in CLA’s Sync! Newsletter, vol. 3,  reprinted here with the author’s permission] What is ADA? It is the Americans with Disabilities Act, which was signed into law July 26, 1990. This civil rights federal law “prohibits discrimination and guarantees that people with disabilities have the same opportunities as everyone else to participate in the mainstream of American life.”[i] In other words, this law aims to provide people with disabilities with opportunities to participate in all the same activities that all other Americans can freely access, including critical areas such as “employment, housing, public accommodations, education, transportation, communication, recreation, institutionalization, health services, voting, and access to public services.”[ii] In terms of access to public services, public libraries and other public institutions are already doing much to provide equal access to people with disabilities. For example, many library buildings are wheelchair accessible for those with mobility issues, most libraries offer large print books and audiobooks for the visually impaired. These accommodations are now considered a staple of traditional library services, allowing libraries to be places welcoming to all Americans. Offering just these services to those with disabilities is no longer enough, however, as the way in which information disseminates in society has changed over the last decade. We are moving from a primarily print-based reading culture to one which relies increasingly on the electronic delivery of information. Accordingly, libraries are devoting more and more resources to providing access to electronic and internet-based materials.  While this method of information delivery is convenient for many, it can inadvertently marginalize others, such as those with audio and visual impairment. In order to fulfill their mandate to offer those with disabilities the same access to information, libraries need be cognizant of the limitations of patrons with disabilities and innovate suitable means of access to electronic information sources. For instance, library e-books should be offered in as many formats as possible (ePUB, PDF, HTML, and others) so that readers can access it from any computer, especially mobile devices that have options which are optimized to assist those with audio or visual impairment navigate the Internet and access information. Apple mobile devices such as iPhones and iPads are especially useful to those with audio and visual impairments as they come with accessibility features such as VoiceOver and Speak Selection which can help those with disabilities not only access e-books on their mobile devices, but also have the e-books read to them. (To find these features, go to the Settings app, tap on General, then Accessibility.) The VoiceOver option, once enabled, reads to the user an audio description of everything on their screen, from battery level to who is calling to what app they currently have open. This allows the visually impaired user to find and open the appropriate app or library website which can connect them to free e-books, e-journals, and other resources. The Speak Selection function takes accessibility a step further, by enabling users to have whole e-books or other electronic text read aloud to them by a computer voice. In essence, the Speak Selection can serve as a makeshift audiobook for those with visual impairment, though the automated voice will sound more stilted and mechanical than an actual human voice reading a text. Another way to make e-resources more ADA-accessible is by offering closed caption options in library videos. In addition to print instructions, many libraries and e-book vendors currently have video tutorials on how to access their e-resources. Overdrive and 3MLibrary, for example, both offer video tutorials.[iii] Video tutorials can be posted anywhere, though YouTube is a popular video hosting website easily accessible for many. For videos posted on YouTube, there is a free closed caption options which can be enabled. With the YouTube closed caption as an option to turn on, viewers can add a layer of subtitles to the video that could be adjusted by font type, color, size, and multiple languages if needed. The YouTube automated captions may not be as accurate as ones professionally created, but for the hard of hearing or visually impaired, it is a better option than none. YouTube account holders also have the option of replacing automatically generated captions with their own timed captions to provide more accurate subtitles. Having the option of modifying the size and look of automated captions or creating one’s own subtitles can vastly improve the readability of video captions. Thus, the YouTube closed caption option is an added functionality that might be helpful to a potential number of people with different impairments and should be offered to better meet ADA needs. Methods such as these are relatively simple to put into practice but can dramatically increase the accessibility of library resources to segments of the community whose interests and needs are unfortunately often overlooked.  In addition to the tools and tips discussed here, there are other practical solutions to improving digital access for those with disabilities, which libraries can learn about through free training offered by the Accessibility Technology Coalition.[iv] By making use of these resources and keeping a close watch on the special needs of their communities, libraries can continue to maximize services and innovate new ways of reaching every patron. [1] http://www.ada.gov/ada_intro.htm [1] http://www.ada.gov/pubs/adastatute08.htm [1] http://help.overdrive.com/#videos? and http://www.youtube.com/user/3MLibrary [1] atcoalition.org/trainings

Unconference 2015 May 2nd

Santa Rosa Junior College librarians invite the community to attend the Unconference 2015 on Saturday, May 2nd from 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. at the Frank P. Doyle Library at the Santa Rosa campus.

Lunch will be subsidized and admission is free. The Unconference is limited to 65 registered attendees. This Unconference is an effort to connect community college librarians from around California in a low-cost, high participation and organic professional collaboration.Registrants will submit discussion topics they wish to facilitate or titles of their presentations. Registrants will vote two weeks prior to the conference on which topics will be included on May 2nd.

To register and to view topic ideas, please see the Unconference 2015 LibGuide for these and other details.

http://libguides.santarosa.edu/content.php?pid=635157&sid=5254804

Questions? Contact Loretta Esparza,

lesparza@santarosa.edu

707-522-2757

James Wagner is serving as the interim full-time librarian at Yuba College during 2014-2015, and overseeing the libraries at the Sutter and Clear Lake campuses. He is also teaching a 1-unit online course in basic research skills.